
                          First Report of Injury or Occupational Disease Instructions  
 
Workers’ compensation insurance is a state-required insurance, which provides medical benefits, 
wage compensation and rehabilitation to workers injured on the job. Severe penalties can be 
assessed against an uninsured employer. Neither general liability nor health and accident 
insurance policies are substitutes for workers’ compensation insurance.  
 
The worker and employer may complete this form together, or they may each submit a separate 
form.  

 
Injured Worker’s Instructions 

Workers have two reporting requirements: 1) notify your employer of an on-the-job injury within 
30 days of its occurrence; and 2) complete this form as a claim for compensation. The form must 
be signed and submitted to the employer’s insurer or the Department of Labor and Industry within 
12 months of the accident. The form must be submitted for all injuries in order to protect your right 
to benefits in the event a seemingly minor injury develops into a more serious condition.  
 
Complete a report of the injury 
Be thorough in completing all areas except the gray shaded areas.  It is important to you that we 
have complete information.  You must provide your Social Security Number (SSN).  This is a 
mandatory requirement that is permitted under Section 7(a) the Privacy Act of 1974 because the 
Montana Department of Labor and Industry’s forms, prescribed by department rules in existence 
prior to January 1, 1975, have required disclosure of the SSN. The SSN is used as a key 
identifier of the claimant, and is needed because of the number of persons who have similar 
names and birth dates, and whose identities can only be distinguished by the SSN.  Use extra 
sheets of paper if needed.  Type or print with a ballpoint pen. 
 
To ensure that workers’ compensation systems will not be disrupted, the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), Public Law 104191,42 USC 1301, et. seq., 
permits the disclosure of protected health care information pursuant to the provisions of 
state laws regarding workers’ compensation. 45 CFR 165.512(1) states: 
 
“Standard: Disclosures for workers’ compensation: A covered entity may disclose protected 
health information as authorized by and to the extent necessary to comply with laws relating 
to workers’ compensation or other similar programs, established by law, that provide benefits 
for work related injuries or illness without regard to fault.” 
 

Employer’s Instructions  
Montana law requires employers to complete this form within six days after notice of every  
on-the-job injury and/or Occupational Disease (OD) by a worker.  
 
Ensure all areas are completed except the gray shaded areas which your insurer will complete. It 
is important for you that we have complete information. Type, or print with a ball point pen. If you 
are completing with WORD software, you may tab through the fields.  
 
If the injured worker is available to do so, they may file a claim for workers’ compensation by 
completing and signing their portions of this form. You may then complete the employer section.  
 
Send the original immediately to your workers’ compensation insurer. If you don’t know who your 
insurer is, contact the Montana Department of Labor and Industry (see below). SEND THIS 
FORM WITHIN THE 6-DAY LIMIT EVEN IF THE WORKER IS NOT AVAILABLE TO SIGN. This 
form must be submitted even if the employer questions whether or not the reported accident/OD 
is job-related. Additional sheets of paper may be attached, if needed, to fully explain all conditions 
concerning the accident/OD.  
 
The United States Department of Labor, OSHA, requires employers to maintain a record of 
occupational injuries in the employer’s office. For the employer’s convenience, this form has been 
designed to meet such requirements and to provide employers with a copy for their records. The 
yellow copy is for your records.  
 
Insurer/Adjuster (not submitting electronically)  
Please complete all gray shaded areas, and mail immediately to the Montana Department of Labor and 
Industry at the address shown below. Boxes that have been BOLDED are mandatory in order to file this 
report. If you wish to file First Report information electronically, please contact the Employment Relations 
Division. 
 
Further Information       
Montana State Fund   
PO Box 4759  
Helena MT 59604-4759  
406-495-5000  - 800-332-6102  
 
Employment Relations Division - Department of Labor & Industry  
PO Box 8011  
Helena MT 59604-8011  
406- 444-6543        ERD-Instructions (Rev 10-08) 



      P.O. Box 4759                     First Report                                          
Helena, MT  59604-4759                 Fax:  406-495-5020   Claims Examiner Date Stamp 

Voice: 800-332-6102 
Worker                                                         Dept Code: (if applicable)        

Last Name 
  

First Name 
       

M.I. 
  

Date of Birth 
       

Social Security Number 
    -    -      

Home address   
      

City  
      

State  
   

Postal Code  
      -      

Phone Number   
(   )    -     

Education     Less Than High School 
                     GED or High School Diploma 
                     Beyond High School 

Gender  
 Male    Unknown 
 Female 

Marital Status  Married    Separated 
 Not Married        Unknown 

Number of  
Dependents     
                         

Wages 
Date Hired 
      

Gross earnings for four pay periods 
preceding the injury. 1 Date / Amount 

      /       2 Date / Amount 
      /       3 Date / Amount 

      /       4 Date / Amount 
      /       

Employment Status   
 Full Time   Part Time  Seasonal  Volunteer 

Number of days  
worked per week:      

Wage:                        Hour      Week     Month   Other:       
                                   Day        BI-weekly    Year  

In addition to gross earnings cited above worker received:                                                     Estimated value if any: 
 Board & Room    Overtime    Bonus    Commissions    Other:                                                                       

Is sick leave available?                   Used? 
 Yes   No                       Yes    No 

Worked next scheduled shift 
  Yes                  No 

Off work more than 4 work days 
  Yes     No      Not Sure 

Date Last Worked 
      

Date of Return to work 
      

Full wages paid for date of 
Injury?    yes  No  

Salary continued? 
  Yes           No  

Accident Description 
Description of Accident (continue on separate sheet if necessary)       
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
Cause of Injury   
      

Part of Body 
      

Nature of Injury 
      

Date and Time of Injury 
      /         

Date disability began: 
      

Date of Death: 
      

Occupation: 
      

Names of witnesses: 
1)                                            2)        

Accident on employer’s: 
premises?  Yes   No 

Accident address or location: 
City:                                           State:      Postal code:      -     

Date employer notified: 
      

Accident reported to: 
      

Safety equipment provided? 
 Yes        No 

Safety equipment used? 
 Yes       No 

Medical 
Attending Physician’s Name 
      

Address 
      

State 
  

Postal Code 
     -     

Phone Number 
(   )    -     

Hospital Name 
      

Address 
      

State 
  

Postal Code 
     -     

Phone Number 
(   )    -     

Type of initial medical treatment received:    No treatment     Emergency room      Treatment on-site by employer or medical Staff      Clinic/Dr. Office    Hospital 

Signature 
This is my claim for workers’ compensation benefits due to the on-the-job injury, occupational disease or death of the above named worker.  I understand that signing this 
claim for compensation authorizes the release of rehabilitation records, Social Security records and health care information (medical records) relevant to this claim to the 
workers’ compensation insurer and the insurer’s agents.  I also understand that if I obtain or exert unauthorized control over workers’ compensation benefits, I may be 
subject to civil and criminal penalties.  
                   Signature of Injured Worker or Beneficiary:                                                                                                                       Date: 

Employer 
Employer Name  
      

Doing Business as: 
      

Federal Employer Identification Number (tax I.D.) 
 

Mailing Address 
       

City  
       

State   
   

Postal Code  
      -     

Phone Number 
 (   )     -      

Location of operation, if different from mailing address:   
        

Nature of Business or SIC Code: 
      

Self-Insured?      Yes    No
 

Employer is a  Sole Proprietorship    Partnership   
Corporation    Limited Liability Company   

Injured worker is a  Sole Proprietorship  Partnership   A member of the employer’s (sole proprietor or)       
  Corporation    Limited Liability Company                       family living in the employer’s household. 

Do you have any                                    If yes, please explain fully.  Use separate sheet if you need additional space.  
reason to question    Yes          No                  
this accident? 

Was worker injured while in 
your employ?    yes        no 

Insurance Agent’s Name 
      

Insurance Agency 
      

Agent’s Telephone Number 
(   )    -     

Prepared by:  
       

Official title:  
       

Date:  
       

Payroll Classification Code 
under which you report                        
employee’s wages:  

 
 
Authorized Employer’s Signature:____________________________________     Date:__________________________ 

Insurer Only 
Claim Administrator’s Claim Number: 
      

Date reported to  
Claim Administrator:       

The above information is correct with the following exceptions:    
(Attach extra sheets if box at right is checked)  
 

Third Party Administrator’s Name:    
      

Claim Administrator’s Address:  
       

Insurer FEIN: 
  

Insurer’s Name:  
      

Third Party Administrator’s FEIN:  
  

 

 
Policy Number:  
      

Policy Effective Date: 
       

Policy Expiration Date: 
       

   ERD – 991 (Rev. 10/2008LW) 


	First_Rprt_Injury_Form.pdf
	ERD-991 address change March10

