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YOUR WORKERS’
COMPENSATION BENEFITS

Your guide to workers’' compensation benefits for injuries
and occupational diseases.




I’'M INJURED. NOW WHAT?

No one ever plans to get hurt on the job. But when an
unfortunate incident occurs, Montana State Fund (MSF)
and your employer want to make sure you receive the
appropriate workers’ compensation benefits, medical
treatment and personalized assistance you need to
get you back to work. We understand that coping with
an injury or occupational disease while trying to learn
about your benefits can be difficult. Don’'t worry, we
are here to help you mend and put your mind at ease.
We created this brochure to give you some general
information on your workers’ compensation benefits.

This brochure is not all-inclusive. Please be aware that
each claim may vary. For complete answers to your
questions, we encourage you to consult your MSF
claims examiner at 800-332-6102.

THE BASICS: WHAT IS WORKERS’
COMPENSATION INSURANCE?

Workers’ compensation insurance is required for most
types of employment. If you have an occupational
disease or are injured on the job, you may be eligible
for workers’ compensation benefits provided that you
report the event to your supervisor and submit the
proper claim form on time.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Report all on-the-job injuries to your supervisor, insurer
or employer as soon as possible. You must give notice
within 30 days after the occurrence of the accident.

You must submit a written and signed First Report of
Injury (FROI) form within 12 months from the date of
the accident. You can submit this form to your employer,
the workers’ compensation insurer or the Montana
Department of Labor & Industry (DLI). An occupational
disease claim must be presented in writing to your
employer, insurer or DLI within one year from the date
you knew or should have known your condition resulted
from an occupational disease. The condition must be
established by objective medical findings and your
employment must be the major contributing cause of
the condition. Upon receipt of your signed FROI form,
the insurer generally has 30 days to either accept or
deny your claim.

Workers’ compensation is a program designed to:

* Provide, without regard to fault, wage-loss benefits
and medical benefits to employees suffering from a
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work-related injury or occupational disease.

e Return the employee to the workforce as soon as
possible.

* Be easy to access without professional help.

* Provide coverage at a reasonable cost to
employers.

IFYOUR CLAIM IS ACCEPTED

Once MSF accepts your injury or occupational disease
claim, you are entitled to reasonable doctor, hospital,
prescription and medical care costs. Allowable charges
are paid according to a state of Montana medical fee
schedule and applicable statutes and rules. Generally,
you do not have to pay the balance between what the
medical provider charges and what MSF pays. These
benefits are applied only toward medical conditions
directly related to your industrial injury or occupational
disease claim.

WHAT IF | PROVIDE FALSE INFORMATION?

When you sign your First Report of Injury form, you
have declared that the information on the claim is true.
If you receive benefits for a claim you are not entitled
to, you may be guilty of theft and criminal proceedings
can be initiated. Helping someone else to gain benefits
fraudulently is also a crime.

[f you know of or suspect fraud, you can call our
Fraud Hotline at 888-MTCRIME (888-682-7463)
or visit montanastatefund.com.

WHAT ARE MY RESPONSIBILITIES?

We want to help you mend, but we need your
cooperation to succeed. The best thing you can do

is keep open lines of communication with your MSF
claims examiner, doctor and employer. If you are off
work more than two weeks, please contact your claims
examiner every few weeks to check in and let him/her
know your status.
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A NUMBER TO KNOW

In your first contact with MSF you were given your

own unique claim number. It is extremely important

that you use this number whenever you contact your
MSF claims examiner, or visit your medical provider or
pharmacist for conditions related to your reported injury.

CHOOSING A MEDICAL PROVIDER

Workers’ compensation law does not allow you
complete freedom of choice of medical providers.

You may choose the treating physician for initial
treatment. Any time after acceptance of liability by an
insurer, the insurer may designate a different treating
physician or approve your choice of the treating
physician.

The treating physician is responsible for the
management and coordination of your medical care
and must treat you within the recommendations of
Montana’s Utilization and Treatment Guidelines. An
insurer is not responsible for treatment or services that
do not fall within the utilization and treatment guidelines
adopted by DLI, unless the provider obtains prior
authorization from the insurer. If prior authorization is
not requested or obtained from the insurer, an injured
employee is not responsible for payment of the medical
treatment or services.

ARE MY MEDICAL BENEFITS
OPEN FOREVER?

With certain exceptions, for claims with a date of
injury of 7/1/2011 and after, medical benefits terminate
60 months from the date of injury or diagnosis of

an occupational disease. An employee may request
reopening of terminated medical benefits within five
years of the termination. A request must be filed

with the Department of Labor & Industry and the
Department’s Medical Director or medical panel will
review the request and make a recommendation
whether or not medical benefits should be reopened.

For claims with a date of injury prior to 7/1/2011,
medical benefits terminate if they are not used for a
period of 60 consecutive months.

HOW DO | GET PRESCRIPTION
DRUGS FILLED?

MSF contracts with a Pharmacy Benefit Manager.
The PBM works directly with participating Montana
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pharmacies to fill your prescriptions. The pharmacies

in the PBM network will be the only pharmacies you
can use to fill your MSF prescriptions. Please take note
that filling prescriptions at nonparticipating pharmacies
may require that you pay for your medications. Upon
receiving your claim, you will be provided with a list of
participating pharmacies. The list is also posted on our
website. When you go to a participating pharmacy, you
simply give your pharmacist the information provided by
MSF.

The pharmacist will process and submit the billing
electronically to the PBM. Your prescription will be filled
with the generic equivalent of the brand name drug
unless it is not the therapeutic equivalent. You may be
required to pay the difference between brand name
drugs and the generic product if you choose to use the
brand name product.

ARE TRAVEL EXPENSES REIMBURSED?

You may be reimbursed for reasonable travel, lodging,
meals and miscellaneous expenses, all at the state of
Montana designated rates. Claims for reimbursement
of travel expenses must be submitted within 90 days of
the travel on a form furnished by MSF.

You will not be reimbursed for:

(A) 100 miles of automobile travel for each calendar
month unless the travel is requested or required by
MSF.

(B) Travel to a medical provider within the community in
which the worker resides.

(C) Travel outside the community in which the worker
resides if comparable medical treatment is available
within the community in which the worker resides,
unless the travel is requested by MSF.

(D) Travel for unauthorized treatment or disallowed
procedures.

AM | ENTITLED TO COMPENSATION
FOR LOST WAGES?

If your physician does not release you to return to work
because of your injury or occupational disease, you
may be eligible for wage-loss benefits. This is a form

of payment while you are losing wages because your
treating physician has taken you off work, and you are
not able to work in a temporary light-duty assignment.
We strongly recommend that you speak with your
claims examiner about this important benefit.
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LIMITATIONS TO WAGE-LOSS BENEFITS

If you are eligible for compensation benefits, no
compensation may be paid for the first 32 hours or four
days of loss of wages (whichever is less). Typically you
are eligible for compensation starting with the 33rd hour
or fifth day of wage loss.

If you are totally disabled and unable to work for 21
days or longer, compensation may be paid retroactively
to the first day of total wage loss.

Types of wage loss:

e Temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits are paid
to an employee who is temporarily able to work in
some capacity, but unable to earn his/her pre-injury
wage. The amount cannot exceed the established
TTD rate.

e Temporary total disability (TTD) benefits are paid to
an employee who is temporarily unable to do any
work at all.

* Permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits are paid
to an employee who has sustained a permanent
impairment because of a work injury and has an
actual wage loss. The permanent impairment is
established by a physician, in conjunction with the
American Medical Association Guide to Evaluation
of Permanent Impairment.

e Permanent total disability (PTD) benefits are
paid to an employee who is at maximum medical
improvement, but so severely injured he/she can
never return to work.

WHAT IF | CAN'T WORK AT ALL
FOR A WHILE?

If you suffer a total loss of wages due to your injury
or occupational disease, you may be eligible for
temporary total disability benefits until your physician
determines you have reached MMI or maximum
medical improvement, or you are released to return
to your former job or to an alternate job. You may
receive weekly compensation of 66 2/3 percent of your
wages at the time of injury — up to the maximum rate
(see chart below). Again, these benefits are generally
payable after four days or 32 hours of wage loss
(whichever is less). If you also receive Social Security
disability benefits, your weekly compensation benefits
may be reduced by up to half of your Social Security
payment.

[f your date of injury or occupational disease falls outside of these dates,
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07/01/16 — 06/30/17 $756.00
07/01/15 — 06/30/16 $733.00
07/01/14 — 06/30/15 $708.00
07/01/13 — 06/30/14 $698.00
07/01/12 — 06/30/13 $672.00
07/01/11 — 06/30/12 $649.00
07/01/10 — 06/30/11 $633.00
07/01/09 — 06/30/10 $626.00
07/01/08 — 06/30/09 $604.00
07/01/07 — 06/30/08 $573.00
07/01/06 — 06/30/07 $545.00

please contact your claims examiner.

IF | CAN WORKWITH ATEMPORARY
WORK RESTRICTION, AM | ELIGIBLE
FOR BENEFITS?

Possibly. If prior to reaching maximum healing, you
have a physical restriction, suffer an actual wage loss
and are approved to return to modified or alternative
employment, you may be eligible for temporary partial
disability benefits.

TPD benefits:

Are the difference between your average weekly wage
at the time of injury, subject to the maximum of 40
hours a week, and the actual wages you earn in the
modified or alternative employment.

TPD benefits may not exceed your temporary total
disability rate. They are limited to the period prior to
MMI. If you continue to be disabled, you may requalify
for TTD benefits if a modified or alternate position is no
longer available (some restrictions apply).
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WHAT HAPPENS IF | AM PARTIALLY
DISABLED BECAUSE OF THE INJURY?

If your medical provider determines you have reached
MMI, you may be eligible for permanent partial disability
benefits if you have an actual wage loss resulting from
the injury or occupational disease and a permanent
impairment rating greater than zero. If you have no wage
loss, you may be eligible for an impairment award only.
Contact your claims examiner for more information.

WHAT IF | CAN NO LONGER WORK
BECAUSE OF THE INJURY OR
OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE?

If your physician determines you have reached MMI
and you cannot return to any regular employment, you
may be eligible for permanent total disability benefits.
Regular employment means recurring work performed
for payment in a trade, business, profession or other
occupation in the state. The benefit rate is the same as
for temporary total disability. Benefits are available until
you are eligible to receive Social Security retirement
benefits, or an alternate retirement system. Benefits
are subject to a cost of living increase. If you also
receive Social Security disability payments, your weekly
compensation payments may be reduced by up to half
of your Social Security payment.

CAN | GET VOCATIONAL
REHABILITATION BENEFITS?

You may be eligible for vocational rehabilitation benefits
if:

* You have a permanent medical impairment resulting
from your injury and cannot return to your time-of-
injury job or a job with similar physical requirements
and you suffer a wage loss.

* You have a permanent medical impairment rating of
15 percent or greater, and have no actual wage loss.

STAY AT WORK /RETURN TO WORK

(SAW/RTW)

A SAW/RTW program is a plan designed to facilitate
the earliest possible return of injured employees to

the workplace to perform meaningful, productive work
within the realm of their physical capabilities. The
objective of the program is to modify injured employees
existing positions or work schedules temporarily to
accommodate physical restrictions identified by their
medical providers. SAW/RTW generally involves
modified or alternative job duties and is temporary (for
the duration of the healing period). Please contact your
employer and MSF to work on your plan.

DEATH BENEFITS

If an on-the-job injury or an occupational disease is the
cause of death, the Workers’ Compensation Act provides
death benefits for beneficiaries. Additional information
can be obtained from Montana State Fund.

WHY ARE MY BENEFITS DIFFERENT THAN
ANOTHER INJURED EMPLOYEE’S?

Keep in mind that benefit structures are legislatively
determined and they may change. Your benefits are
regulated by the laws in place at the time your injury or
occupational disease occurred.

WHAT IF | DON'T AGREE WITH A DECISION
MADE ON MY CLAIM?

If you disagree with a decision made on your claim

you may request mediation through the Employment
Relations Montana Division at the Department of Labor
& Industry at 406-444-6534 or on the Web at
http://erd.dli.mt.gov.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
800-332-6102 * 406-495-5000 * Fax 406-495-5020 * TDD-TTY 406-495-5030

‘ WEB ADDRESS
? montanastatefund.com
MKV.F’,V:A UND FRAUD HOTLINE
888-MTCRIME - 888-682-7463
montanastatefund.com
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855 Front Street » PO. Box 4759 ¢ Helena, MT 59604-4759
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